Seat Belt Tickets
Seat belts have been mandatory equipment since 1968. In 1984, New York became the first state to require that motorists use seat belts. Now every state has a mandatory seat belt law. New York is a primary enforcement state which means that a police officer can pull you over and ticket you for failing to comply with the seatbelt law. The police officer need not have any additional reason for pulling you over.
Adults (16 Years And Older)
Seat belt use in New York is governed by VTL 1229-c. VTL 1229-c(3) requires that the driver and any passenger riding in the front of the car must wear a seatbelt. Adults riding in the back of the car are not required to wear a seatbelt. However, all passengers in a motor vehicle driven by the holder of a Class-DJ Learner Permit, a Limited Class-DJ, or Class-DJ Driver License must be appropriately restrained, whether riding in the front or the back of the vehicle.
Child (16 Years And Under)
Every passenger under the age of 16 must wear a seat belt or use an appropriate restraint system. Children under age 4 must be secured in a child safety seat attached to the vehicle by a seat belt or a LATCH system. Children under 4 that weigh more than 40 pounds may use a booster seat with a lap and shoulder belt. Children aged 4 to 7 years old may use a booster seat or a child safety seat.
The penalties depend on the age of the person not appropriately restrained. The fine for adults is $50, no points, and a $93 surcharge. The fine for children is up to $100, 3 points, and a $93 surcharge. In addition, your insurance premiums may increase.
The penalties for seat belt tickets can add up quickly. Seat belt tickets are often combined with other tickets. For example, assume you are taking the soccer team to the game. You get a ticket for speeding 66 mph in a 55 mph zone. Turns out Johnny or Susan was not properly restrained so you also get a no seat belt ticket. You are now facing 7 points on your license which will also subject you to the driver responsibility assessment. Thus, you are now facing up to $961 in fines, surcharges and assessments. Not to mention that your license will be suspended if you are convicted of another 4 point or more violation within the next 18 months.
Contact A Seat Belt Ticket Attorney
Contact the Shelton Law firm if you receive a seat belt ticket. The Shelton Law Firm knows how to defend clients charged with seat belt violations. With our money back guarantee you can relax and we will do all the work. We will go to court on your behalf and fight to reduce your points, reduce your fines and avoid increases in your insurance rate. With the Shelton Law Firm on your side, you have the peace of mind to know that your seat belt ticket attorney will zealously defend your rights.